Gary Osborn

Copyright © G Osborn. 2006. All Rights Reserved

To prepare the reader, so that the themes, concepts and encoded information I will be revealing in these presentations can be properly engaged and understood, a basic understanding of the Earth's geophysics is essential. The reader can also use this page as a reference.
For those who are already familar with this knowledge, please click the link button at the bottom of the page to go straight to the first presentation.

The Ecliptic Plane

The annual cycle of the seasons, Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter, is largely the result of the tilt of the Earth’s celestial, polar axis on which the Earth rotates every 24 hours, and also revolves in its orbit around the Sun every 365¼ days.
As most of us know, the Earth is tilted in respect of the plane of its orbit around the Sun known as the Ecliptic Plane.
In the diagram below, the cross of the ecliptic plane and the vertical ‘ecliptic pole’ – both shown running through the Earth like a cross and to which each celestial body (planet) is aligned in respect of the Sun at the centre of our Solar System – is merely imaginary and abstract and merely serves as a point of reference in three-dimensional space. Like the straight back of a soldier on guard duty, the zero-squared ecliptic  would be the ideal upright position for each planet or celestial body's axis of rotation.

As we know the Moon orbits the Earth, and so the ‘ecliptic’ is so-called, because it is only on the square orbital plane of the ecliptic that the Solar and Lunar Eclipses take place.
To illustrate these few simple facts about the ecliptic, in the diagram below I have included only the first five planets in our Solar System, leaving out Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. Also the planets are placed exactly on the ecliptic plane, which again, would be their ‘ideal’ position. In reality, the planets orbit the Sun on, or close to, the ecliptic plane due to the gravitational force of the Sun and the combined gravitational forces on each other.

Meridians or lines of longitude are imaginary lines drawn on maps and globes which when combined with lines of latitude can be used to locate any place on Earth. This is basically a grid system for mapping the Earth.
The longitude meridians run from pole to pole and any of these meridians can be referred to as ‘0º’. And this zero from which all other meridians are consecutively numbered, is called the Prime Meridian.

The Solstices and Equinoxes

Let’s imagine we are standing at the centre of the Giza Plateau.
At the centre of the southern sky, dividing east and west, the imaginary vertical line of the Meridian begins from its 0º nadir point on the south horizon (S) (where land meets sky) and continues upward and overhead to the 90º zenith point.
From the zenith point we then trace the line north and downwards through another 90º to the centre of the northern horizon (N).


‘Precession’ is a rarely understood phenomenon resulting from the fact that the Earth wobbles as it rotates on its axis. This wobble effect is caused by the torque forces exerted by the Sun and the Moon on the Earth at the equator causing the Earth to flatten and bulge.
The present 23.43º obliquity (incline) of the Earth’s axis causes the Sun and Moon (at separate times) to be either above the Earth’s equatorial plane or below it and so the gravitational forces of the Sun and Moon are constantly pulling upward or downward on the Earth’s bulge at the equator. It’s the pull of the Sun and Moon that keeps the angle of the Earth’s axis steady and within a restricted limit. If the Moon suddenly disappeared the obliquity (angle) of the axis would change drastically.
Think of a child’s spinning top. As the top begins to slow down and lose momentum, the weight of the top begins to displace itself and it then begins to wobble.
The Earth – being an oblate sphere (slightly-flattened) – is like the spinning top; the only difference being that this wobble is moving at a constant speed and over long periods of time – always altering the direction of the Earth’s polar axis.

In other words, the slow wobble causes the axis to regress or precess – in that like a gyroscope, the axis wobbles slowly in a clockwise direction as the Earth turns anticlockwise – causing the axis to trace a large abstract circle in the heavens, which by today’s agreed estimate takes 25,776 years to complete.

Figure 8

Artwork: Copyright © Gary Osborn. 2010. All Rights Reserved

Figure 8: The 25,776-year cycle of precession traced in the heavens by the Earth’s axis.
The axis takes 71.6 years to complete one degree, and 2,148 years to complete one of the twelve Zodiac signs.
At present the axis is pointing to the star Polaris – the present Polestar. Around 2,800 BCE the Polestar was Thuban.
According to Sir Norman Lockyer, around 10,500 BCE the Polestar was Eltanin (the Dragon's Head), and 12,000 BCE the Polestar was Vega.

As shown in figure 8, the central axis of this precessional revolution is called the ‘pole of the ecliptic’ and the central and unmoving still point in the heavens, which the abstract pole of the ecliptic is pointing to, is called the ecliptic centre.
Why is this geophysical phenomenon called the ‘Precession of the Equinoxes’?

Well first of all, like every circle, the cycle around this still point is divided into 360 degrees. As most of us will know, every year and from our perspective on Earth, the Zodiac is seen to move behind the Sun in a clockwise direction – each sign being completed in a month, and the whole Zodiac completed in a year. This is really due to the Earth’s anticlockwise orbit around the Sun, which again, takes a year to complete.
But again, the precessional axis is also moving forward (clockwise) and slowly – at a rate of 71.6 years every degree going by today’s calculations. Because the Earth turns anticlockwise on its axis, this means that the Sun is seen to move backward very slowly through the 12 constellations of the Zodiac.
The measurement of this movement is determined by observing the rising position of the Sun on the Spring Equinox every year, the point of the Sun's rising is observed to be moving slowly backwards through the Zodiac and again at a rate of one degree every 71.6 years – or 72 years being the rough estimate as used and encoded by the ancients.
At present, we are living at the end of the ‘Age of Pisces’, which began around 1 A.D. So every year on the Spring Equinox – the Sun is seen to rise against the Zodiacal constellation of Pisces. In the annual cycle, Pisces is followed by Aries. However, in the 'Great Year' and due to Precession, the Sun is very slowly moving the other way; moving backwards and in a clockwise direction from Pisces towards the ‘Age of Aquarius’ – but won’t reach the constellation of Aquarius for another four hundred years or so. More than 2000 years ago, the Sun would have been seen to rise against the stars of the constellation of Aries, and well over 2000 years before that, the Sun would have been seen to rise against the stars of the constellation of Taurus.
With the above fresh in our minds, we will now move onto the numerous encoded references to the angle of 23.5 degrees which I first discovered in several paintings and various symbolic sources during the first months of 2001.


You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player